2012 >>

photo: Fidelis Fuchs

superposition is a project about the way we understand the reality of nature on an atomic scale and is inspired by the mathematical notions of quantum mechanics. Performers will appear in Ikeda’s work for the first time, performing as operator/conductor/observer/examiners. All the components on stage will be in a state of superposition; sound, visuals, physical phenomena, mathematical concepts, human behaviour and randomness – these will be constantly orchestrated and de-orchestrated simultaneously in a single performance piece.


concept, direction & music: Ryoji Ikeda

in collaboration with
performers: Stephane Garin, Amélie Grould
programming, graphics & computer system: Tomonaga Tokuyama, Norimichi Hirakawa, Yoshito Onishi
optical devices: Norimichi Hirakawa
stage manager: Simon MacColl
technical manager: Tomonaga Tokuyama
production assistant: Daisuke Sekine

production: Ryoji Ikeda Studio (Artistic direction: Emmanuelle de Montgazon, Administration: Yuko Higaki), Quaternaire (Producer and artist management: Sarah Ford, Associate producer: Laurie Uprichard, administration: Kathleen Aleton, Coordination and marketing: Joanna Rieussec), Forma (Artistic Director: David Metcalfe)

commissioned by the Festival d’Automne à Paris for the musical part
created and developed at Parc de La Villette (FR), Yamaguchi Center for Arts and Media (JP), ZKM I Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe (DE)

co-production: Festival d’Automne à Paris, Les Spectacles Vivants – Centre Pompidou (FR), Barbican (UK), Concertgebouw Brugge (BE), Festival de Marseille _ danse et arts multiples (FR), Parc de La Villette (FR), Kyoto Experiment (JP), ZKM I Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe (DE), STRP Art and Technology Festival (NL), Stereolux / Festival Scopitone / le lieu unique (FR)
With the support of the DICReAM-CNC (FR)